How To Auto Delete Your Facebook Account After Your Death

How To Auto Delete Your Facebook Account After Your Death

delete-facebook-after-deathTA deceased person’s Facebook account can be commemorated after a request submitted by a verified person. However, Facebook also gives you the option to automatically delete your Facebook account after being notified of your death.

Death is inevitable, but all living things seem reluctant to face this harsh truth of life. It is more painful for the close relationships of a deceased person because it is difficult to fill that empty space in their life. Nowadays, many people spend a large part of their life on the Internet, especially on social platforms. The situation worsens when people discover the social media profiles of their loved ones or receive birthday notifications after their death.

WP Rocket - WordPress Caching Plugin
Also read: How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Facebook is probably the most popular of all of these platforms. It offers suitable options that allow you to commemorate a deceased person’s Facebook profile – those with Remembering written – after receiving a request from a verified person.

A friend or family member can either initiate,

  1. A request for commemoration:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/234739086860192
  2. A deletion of an account by a special request for an account from a deceased person:
    https://www.facebook.com/help/contact/228813257197480
    Note: Proof of death is required.

A person can select legacy contacts for their Facebook account. The legacy contact can perform basic tasks – once the account has been commemorated – like composing a pinned message, responding to friend requests, and updating the profile photo and cover photo. However, they cannot log into the commemorated account, edit any other information, read chats with other friends, etc. If there is no legacy contact associated with an account, no one will be able to make changes.

How to automatically delete your Facebook account after your death?

Now, if you don’t want to keep your Facebook account alive after you die, you can have it automatically deleted after you die. Facebook now has a new user interface, so some options may differ from the old one. Here are the steps to do it:

  1. to log in on your Facebook account.
  2. Click it down arrow in the upper right corner.
  3. Click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu. Then click on Settings.
  4. Click on General on the left side.
  5. Click onMemorization parameters.
    Delete Facebook account after death Process 1
  6. Click on Request that your account be deleted after your death.
    Delete Facebook Account After Death Process 2
  7. Click on Delete after death.
    Delete Facebook account after death Process 3

Facebook will delete your account, including all data on it, after someone informs them of your death.

If you have anything to add, let us know in the comments below.

Also read: How to automatically delete your Google account after your death?

The message How to automatically delete your Facebook account after your death appeared first on Fossbytes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *